Book Review: #GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso

Let me just say this first, I don’t usually read books… I listen to them on through Audible on my phone on my way to work, at work, and on my way home from work. If that offends anyone, I’m not sorry.

Anyways, I recently finished listening to #Girlboss by Founder and CEO of Nasty Gal, Sophia Amoruso. I was never a huge fan of Nasty Gal, but I was intrigued with this book because of the name of the book, #Girlboss. Even by the title, I knew that this book would have empowering topics about being a successful and independent woman. I absolutely love this book. Sophia is such an inspiring woman. This book is about Sophia Amoruso and her wild spirit and how she started her successful business, Nasty Gal out of her love for vintage clothing. She gives great detail of every aspect of her triumphs and defeats on how she started her business and how she found herself and stayed true to herself.

One thing that I really took away from this book is to stay true to yourself and that being your weird self is just fine. She emphasizes that being true to yourself can lead to great success in terms of self happiness and possibly financially. She states that you need to find what you really want to achieve in life and go for it. Sophia wants readers to take away that every girl deserves to be confident with themselves. She also states that being kind to yourself and to others will get you far, of course if the person really deserves to chewed out… then  it’s fine to be mean. haha. At least that I what I got out of it.

Finally, I really appreciated this book and found it really empowering to know that I have the ability to take control of my life and to do what I want to do. Nothing can hold me back. Also, knowing that I took risk will be a triumph in itself. This book taught me that I need to not be so self conscious about what I do or how I look, but that I should do what I want and do what makes me happy because, isn’t being happy most important? I recommend this book so much to anyone that is looking for some inspiration to either be more confident with themselves and to start taking charge of their lives. Absolutely love this book.

Leave a Reply

