Monthly Favorites: March 2013

Image

This month’s favorites mostly revolve around beauty products. I didn’t really switch up my wardrobe or accessories too much. And if I did, it was pretty recent and might be in next month’s favorites 🙂

Here we go!

  1. Nine West Black Leather Wedges with Silver Hardware from Macy’s

IMG_6153

IMG_6155

IMG_6154

IMG_6155

I bought these wedges from Macy’s about 3 months ago in December for upcoming interviews. I told my self that I would only wear these for interviews. Now that interviews are over and I finally got a decent job, I wear these babies to work. I know they aren’t the most stylish and most fabulous looking shoes in the world, but they work for me! They’re comfortable, they give me the right amount of height, and they go with darn near everything! I must say, that I am completely smitten about these shoes. They are so classic and comfy! I can’t stress the comfiness enough! haha. I love wearing these to work. I’m slowly building up my collection of heels and wedges for work. I’m on a hunt for some work appropriate nude heels.

     2. Covergirl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3 in 1 Foundation from Target in shade 842

IMG_6159 This product is amazing! It’s close to becoming a holy grail product, for sure! I picked this up about a month ago after seeing numerous beauty gurus rave about this. They all pretty much had positive things to say. This product claims to be an “all day flawless coverage” foundation. Also that it has a “lasting power of a primer, coverage of a concealer, and blend ability of a foundation in one. [And to be] shine free.” I thought it was going to be too good to be true. After watching a few tutorials and reviews of this product, I decided to pick it up. One common thing that each beauty guru said was that you needed to get a lighter shade than your natural skin color because this product gets darker…. which is completely true. It doesn’t oxidize and make you orange it just literally gets darker. So when I first picked this up I picked up a shade that was about 2 shades lighter than my skin color, which was a mistake. Haha. It was way too light. So I went one shade down and got shade 842, which is perfect. As for shine free and coverage, it’s really great. I have oily skin and this product really does the job of keeping you shine free without adding a primer. As for coverage it does a pretty good job. For my whole face, all I need is a dime size and I’m good to go. Get this product!

     3. Rimmel London Lasting Finish Pro Nail Polish in 230 Hot Cocoa from Target

IMG_6162 IMG_6161 This nail polish is a great dark nude color for nails if your looking to have neutral nails. I was using this a lot this month because I wanted color on my nail, but since I started working in an office environment, I didn’t want anything too obnoxious. This was a perfect fit. The one thing that I love about this nail polish was the size of the brush. It’s huge! The brush pretty much covers my entire nail, but then again, I have pretty small nails. Love this!

     4. Nail Polish Remover  “Dip It” Acetone from Target

IMG_6163 IMG_6164 I’ve heard of these type of nail polish removers for the longest time, but it wasn’t until recently that I picked it up and fell in love. This product makes it so much more easier to change up your nail polish. It’s so much easier to remove your nail polish. If you haven’t tried it or heard of it, all you do is dip your finget in the container and scrub against the scrubbers and within seconds, your nail polish is off! I don’t think I’ll ever go back to using a cotton pad again to remove my nail polish.

     5. Boots Expert Anti-Blemish Toner from Target

IMG_6165 I’ve never been into toners and all the other things for your face except for moisturizers and face scrubs. After hearing all of the benefits of using toners and what not, I thought it’d give this a shot. This product is from the United Kingdom for the brand Boots. I’ve heard of the brand before but I hadn’t heard anything on this product. It was pretty cheap and I thought, why not. It claims to minimize pores and diminish acne scars. I love this product the most because it leaves my skin tight and refreshed. You really can’t go wrong with this product.

     6. Derek Cardigan 7010 Glasses in the Tortoise Shade from Coastal Contacts

 IMG_6167 IMG_6169 IMG_6170
For the longest time I have been on the hunt for Club Master-esque glasses to wear casually. These glasses are a amazing. They are extremely light and well made for the price. I love that the lenses come with an anti reflective coating and the aren’t too obnoxiously big. They are really classic and aren’t too outrageous for everyday wear. They defiantly are a conversation starter, but I don’t mind. I decided not to get the black because I thought they would be a bit too harsh for my face since I like to fill in my brows a little heavy. I thought this shade was  good balance for my face and my features. Definitely check the website out, they always have amazing deals!

     7. Rimmel London Glam Eyes Lash Flirt Mascara from Target

IMG_6171 IMG_6172 IMG_6176 This is so old! I’ve had this mascara forever! I use to use a lot, but then I started to purchase more and more and this ended up getting lost with my other mascaras. I picked it up again recently because I wanted to try out mixing mascaras. I use this mascara with my more clumpier mascaras. This mascara does an amazing job of lifting and separating my lashes. I use this first and then go in with a more thicker and fatter brush and then use this again to separate my lashes. Even though it’s more time consuming using more than one mascara, the end product is so worth it.

     8. Garnier Fructis Sleek and Shine Anit-Frizz Serum from Target

IMG_6177 This is definitely a holy grail item, I might have mentioned this before, but whateves! I love using this on days where I don’t have time to do my hair… which is nearly every work day. I wash my hair everyday because my scalp get oily and I get self conscious about it. Everyday after my morning shower I let my hair towel dry for about 20-25 minutes. After then, I use one pump, depending on how long my hair is, and run this through my hair. I concentrate it mostly on my ends and in the middle. This product really does help keep my hair from frizzing up too much and helps keep it tame.

     9. ELF Powder Brush

IMG_6178 IMG_6185 Holy Grail Alert! Seriously though, I am a pretty big fan of ELF products for, not only the price, but the qualify of most of their products, most particularly their Powder Brush. This brush is amazing for applying liquid foundation because of the density of the bristles. It does an amazing job of smoothing out the foundation and giving you a flawless finish as well. And especially for the price ($3) you really can’t go wrong with that. I hadn’t used this brush in a while because I had acquired new brushes from a friend, but once I used it again I remembered why I love this brush so much.

     10. Basic Black Blazer from H&M

IMG_6186 IMG_6188 Since I started my new position I have been reaching for my blazer more and more. I love pairing this with jeans. Since my office isn’t that dressy, I like to dress up me jeans with my blazers. I’ve been slowly growing my blazer collection. I have a red one, a maroon one, and my black one. I’ve had this black blazer for the longest time but I was always so worried of wearing it because I felt like I was too dressed up. Now that I work in an environment where I could wear it comfortably, I always grab for it. I think it’s essential for every girl to have a basic black blazer. You can use them for so many different occasions and they are a classic piece.

Hope you enjoyed my March Favorites!

3 thoughts on “Monthly Favorites: March 2013

  1. ryannelau April 12, 2013 / 11:35 pm

    It’s so hard finding the right shade for the 3-in-1 foundation! I think it’ll be amazing for summer 🙂

    Ry
    thebeautydreamer.wordpress.com

    • jajajajajasmine April 13, 2013 / 12:37 am

      It is tough, but you just got to go up one or two shades lighter than your skin tone. It gets darker through out the day, but not in a bad way. I’m excited to use this in the summer because my skin is so oily and I think this will help with that. 🙂

      • ryannelau April 13, 2013 / 1:05 am

        Same! Even the amazing Revlon Colorstay can’t keep my oily t-zone from being super shiny at the end of the day, but the 3-in-1 works wonderfully!

Leave a Reply

