Work Outfit Ideas

Holy jamoleys, I have definitely neglected this blog long enough. I’m really sorry for the lack of post here. I work a 9-5 position and when I get home, all I want to do is nothing. haha. And on the weekends, all I want to do is hang out with my family, boyfriend, and friends. Sorry about the neglect, but I’m going to try my hardest to post more.

Speaking of work, this post is going to focus on work wear! I’m going to present 4 key outfits or pieces that I think every working girl, mostly office work, should have in their wardrobe. I hope you enjoy! 🙂

  1. Perfect Black Dress

Having a cute black dress is essential to all girl’s wardrobes, working or not. I know that most girls have the “little black dress” for going and out, which I have too, but I also think that having a work appropriate black dress is essential too. The color black is a very neutral color and sophisticated at the same time and can pull a look together so easily. Also, its a classic color that is always timeless… of course depending on the style of it, but most of time the pieces are timeless. Whatever shape or cut of a black dress you own, it’s a great piece to have and a great and easy piece to style around, especially on those “rushed” mornings out.

In this look, I am styling around a skater-esk type of black chiffony dress. It has a white peter pan color and is paired with a belt. I paired this dress with a white chunky knit sweater, red oxford heels for color, and white and black bag to complement the entire look.

Image

2. Dress Pants

Dress pants are essential for any job, especially before you get the job… i.e. job interviews and job hunting. You always want to make a great impression and don’t want to be too flashy, but you still want to look professional. Dress pants are very versatile, whether it being ankle length, wide leg, or skinny. Just remember to make sure that the fit is just right on you, or else you can easily look sloppy.  Again, this is a classic piece that you can invest in and will not go out of style.

In this outfit, I am styling around ankle length, straight leg/skinny fit dress pants. I think that this style of pant is a modern take on the classic dress pant, but its also flattering to many shapes. I am pairing it with a chiffon long sleeve blouse, tan flats, gold accessories, and a neutral bag. I especially love that pants have a skinny leopard print belt, which adds a bit of sassiness to the outfit 🙂

Image

     3. Pencil Skirts

Pencil skirts are a classic and essential piece to any working girl’s wardrobe. I think that pencil skirts are flattering on any body type because it follows the natural curves of the girl. I also think that pencil skirts have a very vintage feel to them, which is amazing. To bring them into the modern day, you can pair it with modern prints, colors, and styles. What I  love the most about pencil skirts is that they make your ass look amazing!! 🙂

In this look, I am pairing a simple black pencil skirt with an electric blue blouse for a great source of color and “pow” to this outfit. I kept the accessories simple and neutral. And even though I am highlighting the skirt in this post, I’m using it as a great basic piece to build the whole outfit from.

Image

4.  Tailored Jeans

Lastly, the tailored jean. Almost every office has a “casual Friday” or like at my office… everyday is casual Friday, but I just choose to dress up for the rest of the week unless everyone else. I love the idea of casual Friday, but I think some take it way too far. I think you should still carry yourself in a professional manner, since you still are at work, but on those casual Fridays you can take it down a notch. Adding denim to your outfit instantly makes your outfit casual. I personally, would shy away from anything too tight fitting or low rise for work attire. But if you do choose to go with a skinny jean, go with a flowy top so that your outfit isn’t showing TOO much of your figure. Just remember, keep the jean tailored. Make sure it’s not too long, too tight, too loose… too anything… just right! 🙂

In this outfit, I styled around a pair of straight legged jeans. I love these type of jeans because for us short girls, I’m 5’1, they make all of the difference and make you look so much taller. I paired it with a chunky knit layered over a button down shirt for a cozier feel. I also have a pair wedged booties for height and a red bag for color.

Image

Well, that’s it! I hope you enjoyed this post!

And remember, make work wear fun and make it your own. Explore color, textures, and prints! Have fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

