Date Night

Yesterday my boyfriend and I saw Aziz Ansari at the Orpheum Theater in Downtown LA and it was amazing!

I remember about a month ago, I saw a post that Aziz put up on his Facebook  that he was adding shows to his 2012 Tour and that he had 2 nights in LA. My boyfriend and I recently started to get into his comedy and so I texted my boyfriend quickly if he was interested in seeing him and once I saw “Yes” on my phone screen, I bought the tickets. It was one of the best purchases I have made in 2012.

The day started off pretty well, my boyfriend and I had planned a day going around LA before heading to the venue. We dropped off his parents at the airport at LAX and started to head to Santa Monica, but of course LA traffic ruined our plans. Once we got to Santa Monica, we had ended up on the 1 North Freeway and got stuck in traffic. By the time we had gotten out of it, we realized we didn’t have enough time to park, explore, and enjoy the pier, so we headed off to LA and decided to have dinner near the venue. We also figured that the traffic on the freeways into DTLA was going to be bad and we were right.

traffic… 😦

We finally got to LA and the area of the venue. We didn’t know the area too well, but we found a great place to eat and hang out until the doors opened at The Orpheum Theater. We found the Los Angeles Brewing Company and it was so gewd. Haha. We had good beers and good food. Wesley and I shared a platter of calamari and I had a meatball sandwich and my boyfriend had fish and chips. It was very delicious.

Yummers! 🙂 Definitely going back here again!

Finally it was time to go into the venue and grab our seats. The Orpheum Theater is a beautiful art deco type of theater. It was so amazing to look at and to be in. We were both really excited for the show to start because we both knew that Aziz’s material was all new and that we had not heard it before. The show was delayed for about an hour. But once the show started it was funny all throughout. It started out with an opening act, but unfortunately I forgot her name, but it wasn’t the typical type of girl humor, which was refreshing. And then, finally AZIZ was on stage and I couldn’t stop laughing the entire time. Aziz came on stage and was wearing a navy blue suit, always a snazzy dresser. haha. Also, he’s so little!, which I was expecting. The show was filled with stories of him and friends and his recent adventures through his life. All of his jokes were hilarious and new and fresh.

my litas! : )

so beautiful!

AZIZ! he told us to take a picture of him in the beginning of the show haha.

Last night was a lot of fun. Wesley and I usually don’t go out on dates like this, but hopefully we could start making this more of a common occurrence. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Date Night

  1. marissavanilla September 17, 2012 / 6:28 am

    Oh my goodness! I didn’t know you had a blog! 🙂 LOVE YOUR LITAS, BTDUBS!

  2. jajajajajasmine September 17, 2012 / 3:34 pm

    haha, thank you. do you have a wordpress as well? 🙂

Leave a Reply

